Beginnings of the Church of England
Beginning in the time of Henry VIII, England withdrew from the authority of the Pope at Rome and set up its own church with unique forms of worship and belief. Church architecture and fittings had Roman Catholic elements removed.
The Rood screen, with the large sculpture of Christ on the Rood or Cross which stretched across the church between the nave and chancel in Mediaeval times, was removed.
The font was probably moved from its position by the door in pre-reformation times. It stood in the centre of the church in 1834.
The Reformation was a time when the bible was made available in to the people in the pew. It had been restricted to the priests and only written in Latin. Now it was translated into English with an official version coming from the King. Church services included reading from the bible for all the congregation to hear and sermons often based on bible passages. Pulpits and reading desks were added to the naves of churches.
Paintings on the walls showing the saints and probably the last judgement were washed off or plastered over. In Harby the walls were whitewashed as is recorded in 1832.
Window glass with images of saints was often smashed and this is no doubt the reason why Harby has only three small panes.
Statues of the Saints, including St Mary the patron saint of Harby were removed. Before the Reformation there would have been a statue of St Mary in the niche now empty half way up the west wall of the tower.